Find your special place

I’m writing this post as a response to a comment I got from John T. M. Herres. I’m so happy that people are actually reading my blog and writing comments. There is one thing that I would like to accomplish by shearing my travel experiences. I would like people to know that these wonderful places are actually everywhere and that they can discover them all by themselves no matter where they live.

When I was a little girl, I got my first computer. It had Windows 98 operating system installed, I think, and it had this amazing intro video with pictures from Mauritius. Beaches, magical blue water, I have never seen something like that before. This place was so far away from me. It was impossible for me to get there, it was like a different planet. I wanted to travel so much. My world seemed so dull. When I got older, I was trying in every way to go to distant places, to see these amassing beaches, incredible waterfalls, unreachable mountain tops. I was convinced that all interested things were someplace else.

Since I always loved mountains, couple of years ago, I went to Stara planina. I was amassed by the waterfall we found there. Nature in that area is typical for eastern part of Balkan peninsula. It has these same woods, rivers and rocks I was used to see my whole life. It was pretty but not very different and, for me, not so special. But, when we crossed this typical Balkan river and barefooted stood in front of the waterfall that looked nothing like anything I saw in Balkans, I realized that I didn’t do my job well, that I have to explore my country and my neighborhood just as well as these distant locations that travel agencies charge so much to take us to.

Since than, every time I’ve visited some place not so far away from my home, I had a different experience. I learned to appreciate it in a different way and to see new beauty that was there the whole time. What is more interesting, it turned out these places are not so expensive to visit. They require one or two days trip and are accessible for anyone who is willing to invest weekend into doing something new. I didn’t really had the time to write about all of these places yet, but for instance, there is a small lake located in Belgrade suburbs that is surrounded by woods and hills, with clean, magically green water and very little people know about this place. This is the kind of places I would like to write in the future and, hopefully, inspire people to search for themselves the beauty that is all around us.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Joanne Sisco says:

    I couldn’t agree with you more.

    We have so much beauty and interesting things to see and experience in our own backyards – regardless of where we live. It’s just a question of making the effort to do it.
    It’s a great place to start to feel gratitude for what we have. I never loved my home more than when I started being a tourist in my own area.

    But that doesn’t stop me from wanting to visit the Balkans one day 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Thanks for the mention.

    I do agree that many areas have some fantastic views. While in Central Texas, at least while in my younger days, I enjoyed going hiking through the creek greenbelts, reveling in the fauna and cliffs.

    Other than that, the most I can do is look at pictures and dream of a time. That or write a poem about them.
    In 2010, I did just that and published it my book, Life Through My Eyes: A Collection Of Poetry. In 2015, I shared that one, titled “Scenery,” on my website, which can be seen at http://wp.me/s5HYzX-scenery

    Like

Leave a Reply

